The photos here below above the blog post of making my wooden base for my life sized sculptural figure including the total of blue silicone made figures shown first.

 

Now the 22.11.17 from the 2.10.17

So I have to be honest I have been really bad at keeping this blog updated and now my Sculptural life sized figure is finished its a bit of shame I didn’t post about the process as it was happening, but I still want to post about it as the process to me is a self discovery story journey learning discovering new technical skills which I can improve on in the future as I have plans to make more life sized sculptural figures with silicone again but  also without silicone and if I can without having to spend any money which would suit me better for me as an art student this is more of what I feel should be the case not spending so much money on materials I want to try and get a balance. So like using resourced recycled materials like polystyrene as its light and soft which will help hopefully portray the comforting friendly soft appearance I would like my work to show to viewers .

In the total I made 72 blue silicone mould figures surprisingly and originally my dad estimated 90 to 100 in the end we didn’t actually use all of the 72 silicone figures made their were a few left over. So the first thing to start on now that all the figures had been made was to start making the base and body structure from wood and metal steel rods.

What technical problems occurred if so and how was I able to solve them?

So we did I say we as my dad was my partner in crime being my personal technician helping me with this making process which was a journey. Making the wooden base a little  problem occurred so we after we had estimated and measured the little rectangle in the middle of the wooden base we realized we had cut into to it and made to bigger hole so we had to do a bit of problem solving and cover the small gap left with filler so it was hidden.  We also encountered a few more problems later as the project progressed which we delt with by discussing what was the best way to fix them. Their were times when I disagreed clashed a bit with my dad on what the best way to solve a problem but at the end of the day my dad knew better technically as my personal technician but I did get my thoughts in too.

What I leant at this stage working with my dad any new technical skills etc. ?

So I had used a drill before and used a saw before so I don’t think their were any new tools I used for the first time, but I know from making the wooden base how much time goes into making something this extreme as its life sized I guess which I didn’t think about too much before the project to be honest I didn’t plan out how long it would take me and my dad to make it in detail and I think next time I will as it did take a long time three months more a less and I found documenting it so important with photos as they show the process and now to look back on and see them they are helping me know what I did and they could be a benefit to me so the whole process for me was a learning curve and when I decide to make my next life sized sculptural figure as will have the technical process documented and we will be able to improve and hopefully not make the same mistakes too next time. I don’t know if that was the right answer for this question which I did think up myself but oh well.